National Museum of Nepal is the largest museum of the country and is a famous tourist destination and historical symbol of Nepal. National Museum in Kathmandu has collection of artworks and weapons of historic importance. This museum is divided into three sections namely Buddha Art Gallery, Juddha jatiya kala Shala and the main building. This museum is maintained by Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation. The National Museum of Nepal was established in 1928 by General Bhimsen Thapa using an old building built in 1819 A.D. National Museum is located near Swayambhunath Stupa in capital city Nepal. This museum was opened to public in 1939 AD by Prime Minister of Nepal Juddha Shamsher Jung Bahadur Rana. Here are various museums and their locations in Nepal.

Museum Location
Butterfly Museum Prithivi narayan campus, Pokhara
Chepang Museum Chitwan
Fish Museum Phewalake, Pokhara
Gorkha Museum Kaski, Pokhara
Gurung Museum Ghalegaun, Lamjung
Habai-jahaj Museum Tikapur, Kailali
International Mountain Museum Pokhara, kaski
Janajati Museum Bhrikutimandap, Kathmandu
Jatayu Restaurant nabalparasi
Juddha Jatiye Kala museum Chhauni, Kathmandu
Lepcha Museum Illam
national football museum Sanepa, Lalitpur
National Museum Chhauni, Kathmandu
Prakrity Bigyan Museum Swyambhu, Kathmandu
Rastrya Dhatukala Museum Patan Durbar square
Rastrya Kala Museum Bhaktapur durbar square
Rastrya Kasthakala Museum Pujari Math, Bhaktapur
Rastrya Lokbaja Museum Tripureshwor, Kathmandu
Rastrya Mudra Museum Chhauni, Kathmandu
Sainki Museum Chhauni, Kathmandu
Snake Museum Jhapa
Tamang Museum Rasuwa
Tharu Museum Chitwan and bardia